Codex Adopts Key Food-Safety Standards

July 6, 2009

1 Min Read
Codex Adopts Key Food-Safety Standards

ROMEThe Codex Alimentarius Commission (CAC) adopted more than 30 new international standards, codes of practice and guidelines to improve worldwide food safety and protect the health of consumers during its meeting June 29-July 4.

New standards adopted by the CAC include a reduction of acrylamide in foods; reduction of contamination with Polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAH); prevention of Ochratoxin A contamination in coffee; powdered follow-up formula; Listeria monocytogenes in ready-to-eat foods; and regional standards for ginseng products, fermented soy bean paste and gochujang.

The standards and guidelines adopted this week will make a positive impact on the lives of people around the world, said CAC Chairperson Karen Hulebak. The Commission is working faster than ever before to address the most pressing food safety challenges we face.

CAC also launched new work projects including establishing maximum levels for melamine in food and feed.


Subscribe and receive the latest insights on the health and nutrition industry.
Join 37,000+ members. Yes, it's completely free.

You May Also Like