This site is part of the Global Exhibitions Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 3099067.


AHPA Announces Winners for AHPA Awards

SILVER SPRING, Md.—The American Herbal Products Association (AHPA) recognized six new  winners for its eighth annual AHPA Awards: Sidney Sudberg, Élan Sudberg, Martha Jane Johnson, Josef Brinckmann and Lynda LeMole.

Sidney Sudberg and Élan Sudberg of Alkemists Laboratories, a California-based botanical identification and analytical testing company, were recognized for the AHPA Herbal Hero Award. Sidney Sudberg is Alkemists Labs' founder, chief scientific officer and vice president of quality. He also serves on several AHPA committees, including analytical laboratories and standards, sports nutrition and animal products. Élan Sudberg is Alkemists Labs' CEO and a microscopist. He was recently appointed board member of the AHPA Education and Research on Botanicals Foundation, and chairs the Cannabis Committee.

Martha Jane Johnson, co-founder and sales manager of Trout Lake Farm, will be awarded the AHPA Herbal Industry Leader Award. Johnson and her husband initially started growing organic culinary and medicinal herbs 1973. Trout Lake Farm today has two operational locations and employing more than 100 field workers and producing millions of certified-organic botanicals per year.

Josef Brinckmann, vice president of sustainability at tea company Traditional Medicinals, was recognized for the AHPA Herbal Insight Award. With more than 34 years of professional experience in the medicinal herbal products trade, he currently serves as a senior consultant for biodiversity products with the International Trade Centre of the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development. He also serves on the advisory board of the American Botanical Council, is an advisory committee member of AHP, and a member of the United States Pharmacopeial Convention's Dietary Supplements Monographs Expert Committee.

Lynda LeMole is recognized for AHPA's Special Visionary Award. She was previously co-owner and president of Traditional Medicinals, president of AHPA, and executive director of United Plant Savers. She has helped educate students on nutrition and socially responsible practices, helped with the nation's first over-the-counter medicinal teas and worked with herb safety guidelines.

The 2013 AHPA Awards will be presented during the association's annual Member Meeting & Breakfast on March 7 at Natural Products Expo West in Anaheim, Calif.

AHPA just appointed Jane Wilson as its new director of program development.

comments powered by Disqus